Virginia Traffic Violations
Janus & Stone, P.C. provides competent and aggressive legal representation
for all traffic violations, including the following:
DUI. This complex traffic crime is generally charged as a misdemeanor in a
first offense carrying penalties of jail time, hefty fines, license suspension,
and other potential consequences.
Reckless driving. This is a Class 1 misdemeanor that is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500;
however, fines are generally determined by your driving record, speed,
and other factors. It will also result in 6 demerit points added to your
Improper driving. Under Virginia law, you may have a reckless driving charge reduced down
to improper driving if your “degree of culpability is slight.”
This carries a fine of up to $500.
Speeding. This will result in fines and demerit points to your record. Speeding
20 mph or more above the limit will result in six points. Speeding 10-19
mph above the limit will result in four points. Speeding one to nine mph
above the limit will result in three points.
Hit and run. This is charged as a misdemeanor or felony depending on the circumstances.
It can result in fines of up to $2,500, license suspension, and jail time.
Aggressive driving. Various driving behaviors under Virginia law are considered aggressive
driving, including following too closely, failing to yield right of way,
acting as a hazard to others, and more. It may be charged as a Class 1
or 2 misdemeanor punishable by fines, a license suspension, jail time,
and four demerit points.
Driving on a suspended license. This is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of
up to $2,500 along with an additional suspension of your license. You
will also receive six demerit points and have to pay fees to get your
Habitual offender. You may be declared a habitual offender if you receive three major or
12 minor traffic violation convictions within a 10-year period. Driving
after being declared a habitual offender can result in a misdemeanor carrying
up to 90 days in jail and/or up to $2,500. However, if you drove while
under the influence (DUI) or you endangered property or people, you will
likely be charged with a
In any traffic offense, even if you are guilty as charged, a defense may
be available for your case. In some instances, we may be able to negotiate
your charge to a lesser offense or have it dismissed upon completion of
driving school. A reduction of your charge may save you points on your
driving record. If your license has been suspended, revoked, restricted,
or you have been declared a habitual offender, we can help you petition
the court to restore driving privileges. In Virginia, license suspensions
occur if you accumulate 18 points in 12 months or 24 points in 24 months.
Get Trusted Legal Help from Our Richmond Traffic Law Lawyer
Traffic violations can have many consequences, from demerit points on your
record to hikes in your auto insurance, heavy fines, and more. Our firm
can be extremely helpful in defending you against such consequences. Our
attorney is well-known and respected in the local courts which has led
to great working relationships with local prosecutors and judges. To find
out more about how we can help, consult with our Richmond attorney as
soon as possible.
Contact Janus & Stone, P.C.
online or at
(804) 265-4441 today.